Watershed Management Authority


Iowa Code Chapter 466B allows for creation of a Watershed Management Authority (WMA) to facilitate watershed planning and management between  cities, counties, soil and conservation districts and other stakeholders. A WMA is estabished under the provisions of Iowa Code Chapter 28E. There are five WMAs in Linn County. The Board of Supervisors appoints staff for Linn County participation. 

The Linn County Board of Supervisors appointed the following staff to the five WMAs:

  • Les Beck, Indian Creek WMA
  • Mike Tertinger, Lower Cedar WMA
  • Jon Gallagher, Maquoketa River WMA
  • Les Beck, Middle Cedar WMA
  • Dennis Goematt, Wapsipinicon WMA

Learn more about Watershed Management Authorities in the state of Iowa.