Civil Service Commission for Deputy County Sheriff


Iowa Code Chapter 341A directs the establishment of a civil service commission for deputy county sheriffs. Commissions must be comprised of three members, and no more than two commissioners may be of the same political party. Two members are appointed by the Linn County Board of Supervisors, and one by the County Linn County Attorney. Commissioners serve a six year term. The Civil Service Commission for Deputy County Sheriffs is required to meet at least annually, but may meet more frequently, such as for the testing of deputy sheriff candidates, or to interview promotional candidates.

Commission Members (six-year terms)

NameTerm Expires
Carol Burns6/30/19
Richard Stephani6/30/21
Roger Grobstich6/30/23


Meetings are scheduled as needed.