Work Groups

The work groups, one for each plan element, included interested citizens and representatives from organizations and stakeholder groups. The overall goal of the work groups was to refine the information gathered at the earlier public input and visioning sessions and augment it with citizen and expert knowledge into specific goals, objectives, and strategies. These terms are defined as:
  • Goals: A general statement of a future condition, which is considered desirable for the community; it is an end towards which actions are aimed.
  • Objectives: A statement of measurable activity to be accomplished in pursuit of the goal; it refers to some specific aspiration, which is reasonably attainable.
  • Strategies: A specific proposal to do something that relates directly to accomplishing the objective; it identifies the how, where, and amount to be done.

Each work group met at least twice, with Planning and Development staff providing administrative support. Group members discussed and revised the goals, objectives, and strategies, working to ensure that diverse points of view were considered.

Members & Affiliations
Alternative & Renewable Energy
  • Dan Abel, Linn County Resident
  • Kimberly Dickey, Iowa Renewable Energy Association
  • Pat Harstad, Linn County Resident
  • RJ Jordan, RJ Construction
  • Jyoti Karki, Iowa Renewable Energy Association
  • Sue Snyder, Linn County Resident
  • Kevin Stucker, Linn County Rural Electric Cooperative

Economic Development & Employment Opportunities
  • Lee Belden, Linn County Resident
  • Randy Dostal, Thomas Dostal Development
  • George K. Lake, Marion Economic Development Corporation
  • Christine Landa, Junior Achievement of Eastern Iowa
  • Allen Merta, Cedar Rapids Metro Economic Alliance
  • Scott Olson, Cedar Rapids City Council
  • Michelle Sillman, Linn County Resident

Hazard Planning
  • Liz Beldon, Linn County Resident
  • Hilary Copeland, East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG)
  • Jon Gallagher, Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
  • Mike Goldberg, Linn County Emergency Management Agency (EMA)
  • Brita Van Horne, Linn County Planning and Development

Livable Communities
  • Kendra Abel, Linn County Public Health
  • Mark Armstrong, Linn County Resident
  • Jennifer Fencl, ECICOG
  • Jason Grimm, Iowa Valley Resources Conservation and Development (IVRCD)
  • Jacque Holloway, Corridor Conservation Coalition
  • Les Marquart, Linn County Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Ruby Perin, Linn County Public Health
  • Ron Rath, Linn County Resident
  • Dean Spina, Linn County Resident
  • Marty Stoll, Linn County Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Herb Stone, Linn County Board of Adjustment

Resource Protection
  • John Bruene, United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
  • Bruce Frana, Linn County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Jim Greif, Linn County Farm Bureau
  • Sue Ellen Hosch, Linn County Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Laura Krouse, Abbe Hills Farm
  • George Maxwell, Linn County Planning and Zoning Commission
  • Pat Pisarik, “Chart the Course” Committee
  • John Tuthill, Wendling Quarries
  • Donna Walton, Linn County Resident
  • Curt Zingula, Linn County Farm Bureau

Sustainable Development
  • Frank Bellon, Midwest Development Corp
  • Jon Bogert, Anderson-Bogert Engineers and Surveyors, Inc.
  • Deb Engmark, Brucemore
  • Elwood Garlock, Linn County Sierra Club
  • Dennis Goemaat, Linn County Conservation
  • Jim Hodina, Linn County Public Health
  • Dick Ransom, Hall and Hall Engineers
  • Carole Teator, Trees Forever
  • Chris Thoms, Linn County Resident

  • Michelle Barker, Linn County Resident
  • Kimberly Dickey, Iowa Renewable Energy Association
  • Tom Hardecopf, Linn County LIFTS
  • Jeff Keiser, Linn County Trails Association
  • Brad Ketels, Linn County Secondary Roads
  • David Morton, Brucemore
  • Janet Pilcher, Linn County Board of Adjustment
  • Tom Smith, Corridor Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)
  • John Wauer, Linn County Trails Association
  • Sushil Nepal, Corridor MPO (Alternate)